Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch AGM

June 1, 2017

The Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch of The Navy League of Canada held their Annual General Meeting (AGM) aboard HMCS Chippawa on Thursday, June 1, 2017. It was also the twentieth anniversary of the formation of the Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch, so several of the original founding members were in attendance.

A new executive was elected at the meeting, with current President, Larry Schenkeveld, stepping down after many years of service to, not only the Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch, but to the Manitoba Division as well. A very special thank you goes out to Larry for all his dedication and hard work over those many years. With Larry stepping down, Don Bullee stepped up and will take on the responsibility of Branch President and Phillip Bingham will take Don’s place as Vice President. All other members of the executive have agreed to server for another term in their current positions.

New Branch Executive aboard HMCS Chippawa, June 1, 2017.
Back: Noel Johnson (Awards Chair), Phillip Bingham (Vice President), Craig Shaw (Canteen Manager)
Middle: Pat Lumsden (Membership Chair), John Jamieson (Alumni Chair), Don Bullee (President)
Front: Eugene Manchur (Treasure), Rose Millet (Recording Secretary)

After the AGM was adjourned, everyone retired to the Chiefs’ and Petty Officers’ Mess, where everyone celebrated twenty years as a Branch of The Navy League of Canada. The original warrants were brought out and stories were told.

Original Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch Executive, June 1, 2017.
John Jamieson (Treasure), Kerry Knight (Recording Secretary), Ed Wilson (Manitoba Division President), Rick Hunt (President), Brenda Forysth (Member), Hugh Walker (Vice President), Neil Johnston (Corps Commanding Officer), Missing: Ian Burke (Vice President)

Past and Current Board Presidents, June 1, 2017.
Neil Johnston, John Jamieson, Larry Schenkeveld, Rick Hunt, Hugh Walker, Don Bulleee, Missing: Lynn Hawkeye, Norm Sparks

During this celebration, Alumni Chairman, John Jamieson, announced a raffle of a 9” X 12” painting of the Corps Badge (see full details about the raffle on the Alumni website). Artist, Andrew Huhn, was in also in attendance. Andy painted both the 9” X 12” painting for the raffle, as well as a 4’ X 4’ painting for the parade deck of HMCS Chippawa (see the New JTCVC Corps Badge Painting article).

Announcing Corps Badge Raffle, June 1, 2017.
John Jamieson

Announcing Corps Badge Raffle, June 1, 2017.
Andrew Huhn, John Jamieson

At the end of the evening awards were handed out to members of the Branch and Corps for their service over the years. The awards were presented by Branch President Larry Schenkeveld and Branch Vice President Don Bullee.

Craig Shaw

Larry Schenkeveld
Honour Certificate

Alfred Northam
Meritorious Service Award

Noel Johnson
Certificate of Service (5 Years)

Pat Lumsden
Certificate of Service (10 Years)

LCdr. Neil Johnston
Certificate of Service (30 Years)

Eugene Machur
Certificate of Service (10 Years)

SLt. Megan Cherriere
Certificate of Service (5 Years)

Lt(N) Amanda Norquay
Certificate of Service (10 Years)

Lt(N) Sadie Pelland
Certificate of Service (15 Years)

Lt(N) Lorne Palmquist
Certificate of Service (25 Years)